Law schools in Ghana: LLB, Ghana School of Law and admission
Nineteen law faculties are named in the General Legal Council's interim directive of 12 June 2026 as allowed to run the Bachelor of Laws and the new one-year Pre-Bar Course, and 18 of them are matched to a record on our register. The Ghana School of Law says the Legal Education Act 2026 moves professional legal training to accredited law faculties and ends the old entrance examination. UG, KNUST and UCC each publish a law cut-off, shown below as they print it.
Last checked 8 October 2026. Every figure below names its source.
Law schools at a glance
Checked 8 October 2026- Faculties named as allowed to run the LLB and Pre-Bar Course
- 19Named in the General Legal Council's interim directive to law deans, 12 June 2026
- Rainbow Radio
- Matched to a record on the register
- 18 of 19Matched by name, one by one
- Our own count of the register
- UG Bachelor of Laws cut-off
- 62026/2027 first choice, lower is harder
- University of Ghana
- KNUST LLB cut-off
- 06As printed under the heading Cut-off aggregates for 2024/2025 academic year admissions
- KNUST Registrar's Office
- UCC LL.B. Law cut-off
- 10Column headed AWAITING (2025)
- University of Cape Coast
- Length of the UCC LL.B.
- 4 years
- University of Cape Coast
The 19 law faculties
Names are as the directive was reported on 13 June 2026. The last column is what the register holds from the regulators for the institution, read on 7 October 2026. It is not a statement about the faculty.
Source: General Legal Council and Ghana School of Law, June 2026.
What the Legal Education Act 2026 changes
- Professional legal training is decentralised to accredited law faculties, and the entrance examination run by the Independent Examinations Committee is abolished.
- A one-year Pre-Bar Course covers Company Law, Commercial Law, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Family Law, and Interpretation of Deeds and Statutes.
- After it, students complete the Law Practice Training programme before being called to the Bar.
- Applications for accreditation to run the Law Practice Training programme are expected to open in October 2026.
From the Ghana School of Law press release of 16 June 2026 and the report of the directive of 12 June 2026.
Why there is no official "best law school in Ghana"
"Law schools in Ghana" is one of the most searched education phrases in the country, and the honest answer is more complicated than a top-five list. The Ghana School of Law trains people for the Bar after the degree. The degree itself, the LLB, is taught by university faculties. A faculty can only run the LLB if the General Legal Council allows it and the Ghana Tertiary Education Commission has accredited it.
In June 2026 the General Legal Council issued an interim directive to law deans naming nineteen faculties. The directive came with the Legal Education Act 2026, which moves professional training from a single entrance examination to accredited law faculties and a one-year Pre-Bar Course.
We could not find any published measure that ranks these faculties: no pass rates, no employment figures, no standard student survey. Any "best law school" list you see is an opinion unless it cites one of those. We would rather show you what is checkable.
How we ordered this page
We did not rank the nineteen faculties. They are listed in the order of the directive's report, with the ownership and the regulator status held on the register. The one comparison we can print is each university's own published cut-off for the law programme, which shows how competitive entry is. A lower aggregate means a harder place to get.
The list: the 19 law faculties
Showing 19 of 19
| 1 | Accra Metropolitan University, School of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited |
| 2 | Ashesi University, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences | Private | No regulator listing matched |
| 3 | Central University, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited |
| 4 | GIMPA, Faculty of Law | Not stated | GTEC: accredited |
| 5 | Greenfield College, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited; NMC: accredited (to Dec 2029) |
| 6 | KAAF University College, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited |
| 7 | Kings University College, Faculty of Law, Governance and International Relations | Not matched | Not matched on the register |
| 8 | KNUST, Faculty of Law | Public | GTEC: accredited |
| 9 | Lancaster University, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited (to Aug 2031) |
| 10 | Mountcrest University, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited (to Dec 2026) |
| 11 | Pentecost University, Faculty of Law | Private | NMC: accredited |
| 12 | Presbyterian University, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accredited |
| 13 | UBIDS, Faculty of Law | Not stated | GTEC: accredited |
| 14 | University of Cape Coast, Faculty of Law | Public | NMC: accredited; GTEC: accredited |
| 15 | UDS, Faculty of Law | Public | GTEC: accredited |
| 16 | University of Ghana, School of Law | Public | NMC: accredited; GTEC: accredited |
| 17 | UPSA, School of Law | Public | GTEC: accredited |
| 18 | Wisconsin International University College, Ghana, Faculty of Law | Private | NMC: accredited; GTEC: accredited (to Sept 2030) |
| 19 | Zenith University College, Ghana, Faculty of Law | Private | GTEC: accreditation expired (to Dec 2024) |
Source: Rainbow Radio, 13 June 2026, reporting the General Legal Council's interim directive; Ghana Tertiary Education Commission. Last checked 12 October 2026.
18 of the 19 are matched to a record on our register.
- Accra Metropolitan University, School of Law
- Ashesi University, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
- Central University, Faculty of Law
- GIMPA, Faculty of Law
- Greenfield College, Faculty of Law
- KAAF University College, Faculty of Law
- Kings University College, Faculty of Law, Governance and International Relations
- KNUST, Faculty of Law
- Lancaster University, Faculty of Law
- Mountcrest University, Faculty of Law
- Pentecost University, Faculty of Law
- Presbyterian University, Faculty of Law
- UBIDS, Faculty of Law
- University of Cape Coast, Faculty of Law
- UDS, Faculty of Law
- University of Ghana, School of Law
- UPSA, School of Law
- Wisconsin International University College, Ghana, Faculty of Law
- Zenith University College, Ghana, Faculty of Law
Public and private faculties
Of the 19 faculties, 5 are at universities recorded as public and 11 at universities recorded as private. The rest are either not matched on the register or have no owner stated, which is a gap in the register and not a finding about the faculty.
| Accra | 2 |
| Abetifi | 1 |
| Achimota | 1 |
| Berekuso | 1 |
| Cape Coast | 1 |
| Fetteh Kakraba (Main Campus) and Darkuman Campus | 1 |
| Kanda | 1 |
| Kumasi | 1 |
| La - Accra | 1 |
| Legon | 1 |
Source: SchoolRegistry Ghana research desk. Last checked 12 October 2026.
Published cut-off points for law
| University of Ghana, Bachelor of Laws | 6 | UG 2026/2027 cut-off page, first choice |
| KNUST, LLB | 06 | KNUST entry guide, under the heading Cut-off aggregates for 2024/2025 academic year admissions |
| University of Cape Coast, LL.B. Law | 10 | UCC cut-off page, column headed AWAITING (2025) |
Source: SchoolRegistry Ghana research desk. Last checked 12 October 2026.
These are three different documents for different years and applicant groups. A lower number means a more competitive course. Do not treat them as a league table.
What to check before you apply
- The faculty is on the list. Only the nineteen named faculties are allowed to run the LLB and the Pre-Bar Course under the directive.
- Accreditation. Use the regulator's list. Our universities page shows the status we hold.
- Entry requirements. UCC says applicants need credits in Core English, Core Mathematics and Integrated Science or Social Studies, plus three more passes, and an interview. KNUST asks for credits in English, Mathematics and Integrated Science plus three electives. UG asks for a total aggregate of no more than 24 across six subjects and then applies its cut-off.
- Length. UCC's LL.B. runs four years.
- Cost. Every university sets its own fees. The University of Ghana publishes a schedule of fees, and we never estimate one.
The route from school to the Bar
The first degree is the LLB, taught by university law faculties. In June 2026 the General Legal Council issued an interim directive naming nineteen faculties allowed to run the LLB and the new one-year Pre-Bar Course. The Legal Education Act 2026 (Act 1170) moves professional legal training to accredited law faculties, and the Ghana School of Law says it ends the old entrance examination.
After the LLB, students take the Pre-Bar Course, which covers Company Law, Commercial Law, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Family Law, and Interpretation of Deeds and Statutes. They then complete the Law Practice Training programme before they are called to the Bar. Applications for accreditation to run that training programme were expected to open in October 2026, so ask each faculty where it stands.
For a parent, the short version is that the child still starts with the LLB, and the years after it now sit with accredited faculties and not with a separate entrance exam. The UCC LL.B. takes four years. Other faculties publish their own length.
Choosing a law faculty
Start with the nineteen. Confirm that the faculty you like is in the table above, then ask about its accreditation and its Law Practice Training status.
Entry rules differ. UCC wants credits in Core English, Core Mathematics and Integrated Science or Social Studies, three more passes and an interview. KNUST wants credits in English, Mathematics and Integrated Science plus three electives. UG wants a total aggregate of no more than 24 across six subjects, then applies its cut-off. Each university sets its own fees.
No pass rates by faculty are published. If someone quotes you one, ask where it comes from.
What we could not confirm
- Any pass-rate or outcome figure by law faculty. None is published that we could find.
- Whether each faculty has completed accreditation to run the Law Practice Training programme. Applications were expected to open in October 2026.
- Fees for most faculties.
Keep going
Questions people ask
- Which university is the best to study law in Ghana?
- No official ranking of law faculties exists, and no pass rates are published. The nineteen faculties are listed above. For a sense of competition, the University of Ghana prints a 2026/2027 cut-off of 6 for its Bachelor of Laws, KNUST prints 06 for the LLB, and UCC prints 10. In each case a lower number means a harder place to get, and the three are not the same year or the same applicant group.
- How many years do lawyers go to school in Ghana?
- UCC's own programme page gives four years for its LL.B. After the degree, the Ghana School of Law says the route now includes a one-year Pre-Bar Course, which can be taken at the student's university, at another accredited institution or at the Ghana School of Law, followed by the Law Practice Training programme before call to the Bar. Those are the transitional arrangements it announced on 16 June 2026.
- How much does it cost to go to law school in Ghana?
- Universities publish fees on their own sites, and there is no national fee list. The University of Ghana publishes its own schedule.
- What grade is needed to study law in Ghana?
- It depends on the faculty. UCC says applicants need passes in Core English, Core Mathematics and Integrated Science or Social Studies, at C6 or better for WASSCE candidates, plus three more passes, and must pass an interview. KNUST asks for credit passes in English, Mathematics and Integrated Science plus three electives. UG asks for a total aggregate of no more than 24 across six subjects and then applies its cut-off for the programme.
- How much is a lawyer's salary in Ghana?
- No official salary data for lawyers in Ghana is published.
- Which type of law course is best?
- The first degree is the LLB, and the faculties above are the ones named as allowed to run it and the new pre-bar course. The professional route after it is set by the Ghana School of Law and the General Legal Council.
- Which university is the best to study law in Ghana?
- There is no official ranking and no published pass rates. Nineteen faculties are named in the General Legal Council's directive. Compare their cut-offs, entry rules and accreditation, and visit the faculty.
- Which are the law schools in Ghana?
- The nineteen faculties in the table above, plus the Ghana School of Law, which runs professional training.
- How many years do lawyers go to school in Ghana?
- The LLB at UCC runs four years. After it comes the one-year Pre-Bar Course and the Law Practice Training programme, under the transitional arrangements announced on 16 June 2026.
- What grade is needed to study law in Ghana?
- It varies by faculty. See "What to check before you apply" above for the UCC, KNUST and UG rules.
- How much does it cost to go to law school in Ghana?
- There is no national fee list. Each university sets its fees. Ask for the schedule in writing.
- Can I study law at a private university in Ghana?
- Several of the nineteen faculties are at private universities. The table shows the ownership recorded on our register.
- Is the Ghana School of Law entrance exam still required?
- The Ghana School of Law says the Legal Education Act 2026 ends the old entrance examination and moves professional training to accredited law faculties. Read their release for the transitional detail.
- Is this page updated?
- We re-check it when the General Legal Council or the universities publish a change.
Source: Ghana School of Law and University of Cape Coast, 2026.